Lorrie Smith, CEO, WV Center for Professional Development
WV Center for Professional Development
Register/Log in

Create New Account
User Name/E-Mail
Password (Forgot password?)

Find Us On
Facebook Twitter Google Plus YouTube



Stars Reception in Charleston


West Virginia Center for Professional Development
Stars in Education Reception


The West Virginia Center for Professional Development (WVCPD) will host a Stars in Education Reception on Tuesday, December 6, 2016, at the Charleston Town Center Marriott. The reception will honor two groups of educators - the most recent class of Principals' Distinguished Scholars and the most recent class of National Board Certified (NBC) Teachers. The event is scheduled for 6:30 PM in the Marriott ballrooms.

Principals' Leadership Academy (PLA) Distinguished Scholars participated in the 2015 PLA for New Principals. Each of the 17 honorees  illustrated exemplary work and submitted high-caliber research projects during the Academy.  It is required by state code that all newly hired administrators attend the WVCPD year-long Principals' Leadership Academy for New Principals. The PLA Distinguished Scholars are:

Melanie Arthur Nick Emmerling Kathy Kuykendall Jacob Messer David Pierotti Jennifer Stowers
Larry Bailey Lisa Horne Wendy Laukoter Denise Miller Valissa Porter Joe Thacker
Kimberly Burris Johnna Jacobs Teresa Marsh Darlene Murphy Hugh Roberts  

National Board Certification is the gold standard advanced credential for educators. This certification verifies that teachers have undergone a rigorous process outlined by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards and  illustrated a mastery of core areas. The extensive process is performance-based, peer-reviewed, valid and reliable in measuring teacher preparation and performance. The most recent class of West Virginia's NBCTs includes:

Susan Alkire Sonya Dunlap Rebecca Lewis Kathy Reynolds
Mystee Ansari Sherry Farkosh Shannon Lewis Amy Ridgeway
Sonya Ashby Jessica George Adrianne Manning Breanna Shahan
Rachel Baden Denise Green Jeffrey Mason Jeremiah Smallridge
Leah Baker Amanda Herrod Stephanie Miller Megan Smith
Misty Bicking Mary Jo Jividen Kelly Mills Meribeth Underwood
Kara Breedlove Jason Johans Stephanie O’Donnell Joy Vandine
Carla Calhoun Christopher Kellermeyer Bethany Painter Erika Wimmer
Jennifer Croteau Erika Klose Traci Probst Rachel Yates

WVCPD hosted a similar reception for honorees from the Eastern Panhandle in October. The Charleston reception will recognize those not in attendance at the first event.


304-558-0539 • 1-800-WVCPD-4U • Fax: 304-558-0989 • cpd.info@wv.gov
© West Virginia Center for Professional Development / 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East  • Box 210  •  Charleston, WV 25301  •  cpd.info@wv.gov