WV Center for Professional Development
Register/Log in

Create New Account
User Name/E-Mail
Password (Forgot password?)

Find Us On
Facebook Twitter Google Plus YouTube



2017 PLA Distinguished Scholars


WV Distinguished Principals to be Honored in Charleston
Recognition is a part of second session of New Principals’ Academy

Charleston, W.Va. – The West Virginia Center for Professional Development (WVCPD) will honor the 2017 Class of Principals’ Leadership Academy (PLA) Distinguished Scholars in Charleston next week. The recognition is a part of the Center’s PLA for New Principals scheduled for December 12 – 13, 2017, at the Charleston Town Center Marriott Hotel. The meeting is the second of three sessions new principals will attend throughout the school year as a part of the Academy. Scholars will attend a noon luncheon scheduled for Wednesday, December 13, 2017, in the Marriott ballrooms.

PLA brings new principals together three times each year. Working in teams, the new school leaders attend sessions that focus on school management, finance, effective evaluation strategies and avenues to enhance student learning and achievement in addition to many others. The goal is to help them to build and sustain a foundation of strong professional practices. Each team is led by two veteran principals who serve as PLA team leaders, and mentor the new principals during the school year and beyond.

Distinguished Scholars are school administrators who participated in last year’s Academy and finished at the top of their class. These nine individuals submitted high-caliber research projects and illustrated exemplary participation during the Academy. This year’s honorees are:



Carolyn Baldwin

Putnam Career and Technical Center

Katie Dantrassy

John Marshall High School

Stephanie Duffy-Zimmer

Wellsburg Primary School

Sara Rooper

Hurricane Middle School

Heather Scarberry

Milton Elementary School

Kevin Shupe

Frankfort Middle School

Beth Sigley

Hundred High School

Joey Subasic

Wheeling Park High School

Justin Whitford

Davis Elementary School

PLA for New Principals begins with registration at 10:00 AM on December 12, 2017, and concludes at 4:00 PM on December 13. For details about this and other WVCPD sessions, contact Christy Day, director of communications, at 304-558-0539 (office) or at Christy.B.Day@wv.gov. Details are also available at www.wvcpd.org, on Twitter (@wvcpdwvcpd) and at facebook.com/WVCPD.

The West Virginia Center for Professional Development is one of six agencies within the Office of Education and the Arts.
304-558-0539 • 1-800-WVCPD-4U • Fax: 304-558-0989 • cpd.info@wv.gov
© West Virginia Center for Professional Development / 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East  • Box 210  •  Charleston, WV 25301  •  cpd.info@wv.gov